SADC Summit approves to hold International Conference on Solidarity with Saharawi People

Pretoria, South Africa, August 22,  2017 (SPS) - The 37th Ordinary Summit of Heads of State and Government of the Southern African Development Community (SADC), which ended Sunday in Pretoria, South Africa, approved the convening of a conference on solidarity with the Sahrawi people.

The leaders of the 15-member group expressed their deep concern at the delay in the decolonization process in Western Sahara.

The Communiqué said that the results of the international conference to be held later in solidarity with the Sahrawi Republic will be submitted to the AU Commission and will be shared also with the African Union Commission.


The Summit was attended by the following Heads of State and Government or their representatives: South Africa, Angola, Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Swaziland, United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Namibia, Mauritius, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Madagascar and Seychelles. SPS