Formation of a committee to oversee elections of the Saharawi National Council (Presidential Decree

Shaheed Al Hafed (refugee camps), Jan 16, 2012 (SPS) - Elections of members of the Saharawi National Council has been decided to take place in the period between February 15-20, 2012 under auspices of a national committee chaired by Mr. Mhamed Khaddad, chargee of the National Committee of Referendum, and with membership of 103 individuals including members of the National Secretariat and government, high-level cadres in the State and representatives of the civil society, informed a communiqué issued Sunday by the Presidency.

The communiqué indicated that the political conferences to elect members of the Saharawi National Council are being held in accordance with the decisions of the Thirteenth Congress of the Frente Polisario and based on the provisions of the Constitution and the Organic Law of the elections.

The Saharawi National Council includes 53 members representing various Wilayas, national institutions, civil society and People’s Liberation Army.

According to the Constitution issued by the Polisario 13th Congress held in the liberated territory of Tifariti on December 2011, members of the Council are elected every two years. (SPS)



Follow us on